CANAN UZERLI

Vita


Canan Uzerli, born in 1981 in Kassel as the daughter of a German mother and a Turkish father – being raised bilingually, combines these two cultures with her Project „The Voice from Within – Içten Gelen Ses“.

Inspired by her professional education and her personal experiences she has brought this Project to life with her own song compositions in the Turkish language.

From her early days at home Canan Uzerli loves to sing and her talent is being promoted at school and in a Youth-Choire with Solo parts.

She makes first Band experiences as a singer during the Baccalaureate period in a Celtic Music Group.

At the Istanbul Göztepe Istek Semiha Şakir Secondery full-time School she teaches in 2002 as a student teacher in practicum from grades 1 to 12 in classes of German and English for five months. In this context she has the possibility to better get acquainted with the Turkish culture in Turkey.

In 2003 she starts her studies of Turkish Applied Sciences in Hamburg and parallel to these she takes singing lessons and visits several workshops, among others the Jazz Workshop in the Birdland Hamburg.

Starting in 2004 she enrolls at the Hamburg Conservatorium and attends the Jazz-Band training with Erek Siebel. Several performances with the Student-Jazz Combo follow.

In 2005 she receives the First Price at the Song Competition in the Piano- Bar Caruso in Kassel, which motivates her to further develop her voice and stick to this way.

Finally that same year she makes the decision to become a professional singer and starts her training at the Hamburg School of Music where she graduates in autumn 2008.

She participates in a number of Band Projects in the field of Pop, Bossa and Jazz and performs in a Musical by Franz Wittenbrinck, “Cafe Amazonien”, as a singer and actor on stage. Her first experience with Turkish songs follow in projects of the Turkish Theatre Director Telat Yurtsever as a Solo Singer.

In 2009 she begins a part time study at the prestigious Conservatorium for Turkish Music in Berlin to further be trained in Turkish Art Singing by Nuri Karademirli.

Due to an offer as a singing teacher she moves back to Hamburg in 2010 and continues her lessons with Nuri Karademirli in 2011, traveling back and forth to Berlin twice a month.

Until his early death Canan Uzerli is the student of Nuri Karademirli who is the first one to listen to her own Turkish texts and compositions and who strongly motivates her to go on with it. She cannot imagine a better teacher for herself.

In 2012 she organizes the contact with Ulrich Kodjo Wendt to suggest a musical cooperation. He composes two music arrangements that she completes with her own texts and these are part of her current project.

Further texts and compositions are added in cooperation with Henrik Kolenda and so Canan Uzerli establishes her first Band that celebrates its public Premiere of the project “İçten Gelen Ses – The Voice from Within” in 2014 at the Intercultural Festival “eigenarten” in Hamburg with great applause.

Another Concert follows in Berlin perceived enthusiastically as well.

In Spring 2015 a Mini Album will be available, combining four songs of different coleur, for free download from this Homepage. An Album is the next goal and further Concerts are being planned.

CANAN UZERLI

Vita


Canan Uzerli, die als Tochter einer deutschen Mutter und eines türkischen Vaters im Jahre 1981 in Kassel geboren und bilingual aufgewachsen ist, verbindet mit dem Projekt „Die Stimme aus dem Inneren – Içten Gelen Ses“ diese beiden Kulturen.

Inspiriert durch ihre Ausbildung und ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen hat sie dieses Projekt mit selbst komponierten Liedern in türkischer Sprache ins Leben gerufen.

Seit frühester Kindheit singt Canan Uzerli und ihr Talent wird in der Schule und im Jugendchor mit Solo-Auftritten gefördert.

Erste Band Erfahrungen sammelt sie als Sängerin während des Abiturs in einer keltischen Schülerband.

2002 lehrt Canan Uzerli fünf Monate als Praktikantin Deutsch und Englisch von der 1. bis zur 12. Klasse in der Ganztagsschule ‚Istanbul Göztepe Istek Semiha Şakir Gymnasium’. In diesem Zusammenhang hat sie die Möglichkeit, die türkische Kultur in der Türkei näher kennenzulernen.

2003 zum Studium der Türkeiwissenschaften nach Hamburg gekommen nimmt Sie parallel Gesangsunterricht und besucht verschiedene Workshops, u.a. den Jazzworkshop im Birdland Hamburg.

Ab 2004 besucht Sie am Hamburger Konservatorium das Jazz-Bandtraining unter Erek Siebel. Zahlreiche Auftritte mit der Studenten-Jazzcombo folgen.

2005 gewinnt Sie den Gesangswettbewerb der Piano-Bar Caruso in Kassel, was sie bestärkt, ihren stimmlichen Weg weiter auszubauen.

So fasst sie 2005 den Entschluss professionelle Sängerin zu werden und startet ihre Gesangsausbildung an der Hamburg School of Music, welche sie im Herbst 2008 erfolgreich abschließt.

Sie wirkt bei zahlreichen Bandprojekten im Bereich Pop, Bossa und Jazz mit und steht im Liederabend von Franz Wittenbrink  „Café Amazonen“ als Sängerin und Schauspielerin auf der Bühne. Erste Erfahrungen im Türkischen Gesang sammelt sie in Projekten des Hamburger Regisseurs Telat Yurtsever, in denen sie als Solo-Sängerin  mitwirkt.

2009 geht sie für ein Teilzeitstudium nach Berlin an das renommierte Konservatorium für Türkische Musik, um sich bei Nuri Karademirli in türkischem Kunstgesang weiterzubilden.

2010 zieht sie wegen eines Angebotes als Gesangslehrerin zurück nach Hamburg und nimmt ab 2011 den Gesangsunterricht bei Nuri Karademirli wieder auf, dafür fährt sie zweimal im Monat nach Berlin.

Bis zu seinem frühen Tode im August 2013 ist Canan Uzerli die Schülerin von Nuri Karademirli, welcher der erste war, der Ihre türkischen Texte und Kompositionen hörte und sie motivierte „dranzubleiben“. Sie hätte sich keinen besseren Lehrer vorstellen können.

2012 nimmt sie Kontakt mit Ulrich Kodjo Wendt auf um Ihm eine musikalische Zusammenarbeit vorzuschlagen. Er komponiert zwei Lieder, welche die Sängerin vertextet hat und die Einzug in ihr aktuelles Projekt  finden.

Es entstehen weitere Texte und Kompositionen in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Gitarristen Henrik Kolenda und so gründet Canan Uzerli 2013 ihre erste  eigene Band, welche 2014 auf dem interkulturellen Festival eigenarten die öffentliche Premiere des Projektes „İçten Gelen Ses – Die Stimme aus dem inneren“ mit viel Applaus feiert.

Ein weiteres Konzert in Berlin wird begeistert aufgenommen.

Im Frühling 2015 wird ein Mini Album erscheinen, welches vier Lieder unterschiedlicher coleur vereint und das es auch auf dieser Homepage zum kostenlosen Download geben wird. Ein Album ist das nächste Ziel und weitere Konzerte sind in Planung.